Trappist Monastery Ruins is an iconic landmark in St. Norbert—a suburb adjacent to the south border of City of Winnipeg, nearby King’s Park and University of Manitoba campus. This historic site has been used for special events like the popular Shakespeare in the Ruins.
A brief history about Trappist Monastery:
In 1891, the Abbot of Bellefontaine in France agreed to establish a Trappist monastery on a secluded piece of parish land along the La Salle River, and monks arrived in St. Norbert in 1892. The order was dedicated to a life of prayer and hard work, following the basic tenets of St. Benedict – charity, obedience, and humility. The monks succeeded in building a large and prosperous agricultural operation complete with a sawmill, forge, apiary, cheese house, bakery and greenhouses. About 30 to 45 monks inhabited the monastery at any given time.
Map & Driving Direction
In St. Norbert, just south of the Perimeter Highway; turn west from Pembina Highway (PTH 75), just north of the LaSalle River. Read Trappist Monastery Provincial Park for details.